Tiësto Engage Winner Talks Tiësto, Vegas, FanFueled, and Winning the Grand Prize!

29 May

Last week, a winner was announced for one of the BEST rewards to ever appear on a FanFueled Engage platform. On Tiësto Engage, the GRAND PRIZE – which went to a randomly selected player that earned over 10,000 points – included roundtrip airfare to Vegas, transportation, a room at the Wynn, a free meal, and two tickets to see Tiësto at the XS Nightclub! Our lucky winner was Kayvon Shahbaz and we caught up with him recently to hear his thoughts on Tiësto, Las Vegas, and Engaging with FanFueled!

FanFueled: Tell us about your reaction when you found out you won?
Kayvon Shahbaz: It was doubly exciting for me because I thought I had lost. I received an email saying that I had won, what I felt was the consolation prize and not the grand prize, so I was bummed. The next day I got an email saying that I was the GRAND PRIZE winner, and I started shouting and running around the house like a damn lunatic!

FF: What part of the trip are you most looking forward to?
KS: I’m most looking forward to seeing Tiesto play in a Vegas night club… it’s Vegas so you know it’s going to be buckwild!

FF: First time at Vegas? First time seeing Tiesto? What’s the first thing you’re going to do when you touchdown.
KS: I love Vegas. I usually go at least once or twice a year. I’m a poker player so you’ll always find me in a poker room when I go there. I actually saw Tiesto live for the first time last December in my home town of Dallas and it surpassed my every expectation. The first thing I’m going to do when I touchdown is hustle over to the Wynn, grab a gin & tonic and play some baccarat!

FF: Tell us about your Tiesto fandom? What attracted you to his music?
KS: I’d always been a fan of techno and when I discovered the ‘In Search of Sunrise’ albums, it was my first introduction to trance. What attracted me to his music was how much it pumped me up. One consistency about all of his work, even though it’s evolved over time, is he’s always been great at gradually building up the intensity of a song and then unleashing an amazing hook that you can’t help but nod your head to.

FF: What brought you to the Engage platform in the first place?
KS: Tiesto’s contest is what drew me to the Engage platform. I saw him advertise his Vegas giveaway and I was all over it!

FF: What was your favorite thing about Tiesto Engage?
KS: My favorite thing about Tiesto Engage was I felt like I had a very real chance at winning an unbelievable prize, and as luck would have it, I was right.

FF: Why do you think it’s important for artists to do platforms like this and give back to their fans?
KS: It’s a pretty ingenious marketing tool if you ask me. Since we live in a Facebook/Twitter dominated world, this platform basically incentivizes fans to share and tweet about their favorite artist in exchange for some prizes. It’s a win-win situation for everyone involved.

Leave a Reply

